Less is more! Spring clean!!

When I spring clean, I always adopt the Zen philosophy of less is more!  If you haven’t used an item for over a year, get ride of it!  

I like to start with my clothes. I just grab a few plastic bags, start on one side of the closet and work my way to the other.  Then I do the same for my chest of drawers.  Whether the garment is out dated, doesn’t fit anymore or is ruined, it’s gone! Out of my room and off to the Goodwill or the garbage.

Then, I like to start the task of decluttering paper work. Filing is your friend on this matter! Papers often make up most of our clutter.   This is because we put them in different spots, on the counter, on the table, on our desk, in a drawer, on top of our dresser, in our car.  No wonder we can’t find anything!   Designate an in-box tray or spot in your home (or at your office, for that matter) and don’t put down papers anywhere but that spot. Got mail? Put it in the inbox.

Next is the kitchen clutter. Remove everything from your kitchen counters that is not used for every day cooking (blenders, mixers, jars of dried beans, rice, flour, etc.).  These things should be stored in cupboards!   Clean out the food storage areas and refrigerator to make sure nothing is expired, moldy or rotten. Clean out under the kitchen sink.

Hit the bathroom. Clean out cabinets often (expired medicines, etc…).  Keep a minimum of towels out.  Make sure the linen closet is up to date and neat. Toss out any “dead soldiers”. Toss any near empty shampoos, conditioners, body washes that aren’t used and just clutter the shower.  Keep magazines to a minimum of 1 or 2.

The rest of the house. Just do a run trough and Ask yourself these questions:

    • Do I love it?
    • Do I need it?
    • Is it essential?
    • Yes – I love it and I need it, it works and it’s useful (storage box)
    • No – Someone else can have it (Donation box)
    • No – Toss it out (garbage)

Once you finished the task of  de-cluttering, spring cleaning is a much easier task to accomplish!!

Good luck,

-The Futon Man



7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Cathy on March 15, 2011 at 12:26 am

    Great advice !!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Rob on March 15, 2011 at 1:04 am

    Oh God, don’t remind me…

    Reply

  3. Posted by Sam on March 15, 2011 at 4:33 am

    Good blog, thanks for the good tips.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Suzan on March 15, 2011 at 2:38 pm

    My favorite thing to do!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Suzan on March 15, 2011 at 4:30 pm

    OK, the desk is tackled, now on to the kitchen! lol

    Reply

  6. Posted by Vince on March 15, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    The cleaning part is what I’m not looking forward to.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Vince on March 15, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    Really not looking forward!! lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

