The day I found an unlucky four leaf clover…

I was 10 years old and my Grandparents had a summer home up in the Russian River.  Right down the road from their cabin was the entrance to Armstrong Woods State Park in Guerneville California.  Beautiful area!  Once, while walking through the park with my Grandma, I looked down and saw it!  It was the biggest clover out of the whole patch!  Yep, it was a lucky four leaved clover!  My Grandma said:  “Wow, some people go through there entire life and never find a four leaved clover!”  I was so excited!!  She told me to pick it out of ground and we’ll walk it back to the house and press it in a book to save for good luck!

Not more than 30 seconds after I picked it, a Park Ranger pulled up in his truck, with his flashing red light on and approached us.  I looked over at him with excitement and shouted “I found a lucky four leaf clover!”  He replied: “I’m sorry son, your going to have to through that back!”  (Huh, I mean really?)  He told us that if he let us keep it, the next thing you’d know, people would start coming to the park with shovels and buckets and start removing the plants.  So I had to throw back my lucky four leaf clover that ended up not being so lucky…

True story!!

Happy St. Patty’s Day!

-The Futon Man

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Gina on March 17, 2011 at 7:59 pm

    Great story Futon Man! Better luck next time!! lol

    Reply

  2. Posted by Suzan on March 17, 2011 at 8:04 pm

    Great story indeed, I have to agree with the comment above, “Better Luck Next Time, Futon Man”!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Paul on March 17, 2011 at 9:13 pm

    haha!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Jimmy on March 17, 2011 at 9:41 pm

    Man that sucks!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Jimmy on March 17, 2011 at 9:41 pm

    to bad you couldn’t keep it!

    Reply

  6. Posted by meet local singles free on March 18, 2011 at 7:28 am

    check it out bro

    Reply

Leave a Reply

